Northampton County, Virginia

News and Events | Facts and Information | Weather | Search
Contacts / Site Map / Help


The County is organized under the traditional form of government contained in the Code of Virginia Section 15.2. Under this form, the locality is directed by a five-member Board of Supervisors, all of whom are elected by district within the County for four-year terms. The Board takes action by the adoption of ordinances or resolutions.

The Code of Virginia states that the County Board of Supervisors shall have the power to:

  • Prepare and approve the county budget
  • Levy taxes and appropriate funds
  • Audit claims against the county
  • Issue warrants in settlement of all claims and accounts
  • Construct and maintain county buildings
  • Approve and enforce the county's comprehensive plan and land use control ordinances
  • Make and enforce ordinances for police, sanitation, health, and environmental government as authorized by law
  • Provide for the care and treatment of indigent and physically handicapped county citizens

The Board elects annually a chairman who presides at each Board meeting and serves as the official head of the County government. A vice chairman is elected as well and serves in the absence of the chairman. This election occurs in January of each calendar year.

The administrative head of traditional form of government is the county administrator. The county administrator is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serves at the pleasure of the Board. The administrator is a full-time employee whose duties are to implement county policies as determined by the Board of Supervisors and oversee the day-to-day county business operations through a staff of professional directors. This position has no definite term and the administrator may be removed by a majority vote of the Board at any time.

The County's traditional form of government includes constitutional offices that provide certain administrative functions. Northampton County has four constitutional officers: commissioner of revenue; commonwealth attorney; sheriff and treasurer who are elected to 4 years terms that are not limited. The fifth constitutional officer, Clerk of the Circuit Court is elected for an eight year term.

Board Member Manual

5 Year Strategic Plan Report

Legislative Agenda


County Board of Supervisors

Granville F. Hogg, Jr.
District 1

Biographical Info

Send Email

Granville F. Hogg, Jr.








Northampton Fire & Rescue Commission
E. S. Groundwater Committee
A-N Transportation District Commission
Eastern Shore Regional Jail Board


Larry LeMond
District 2

Send Email

Larry LeMond








Eastern Shore Tourism Commission
Ad-Hoc Emergency Care Committee
A-N Planning District Commission

Oliver H. Bennett
District 3

Biographical Info

Send Email

William A. Hughes, Sr.








E. S. Area Agency on Aging/Community Action Agency
A-N Transportation District Commission

H. Spencer Murray
District 4
Biographical Info

Send Email


Robert Duer
District 5
Biographical Info

Send Email





About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Disclaimer
©2005 - 2013 Northampton County, Virgina. All rights reserved. Website Contact. Photo Credits.