Code Enforcement

Mission Statement

Code Compliance enforces county ordinances pertaining to solid waste, over grown grass, dangerous structures, and abandoned or inoperable vehiclesA full list of Northampton County ordinances can be found at http://www.amlegal.com/codes/client/northampton-county_va/.

The Process

The code enforcement process is typically initiated:

  • in response to a complaint by an individual;
  • observation of a code violation by County staff

How do I notify the County about a possible code violation?

You may file a complaint about a possible code violation in person, in writing, by phone or email. In an average year, the County receives numerous complaints related to possible code enforcement violations.
Please be prepared with specific information, such as:

  • the address of the property,
  • detailed description of the situation, and
  • the length of time you have observed the situation.

You do not have to identify yourself, but providing your name will assist us with follow-up and ensure we have all the information we need to investigate the situation. Per the Freedom of Information Act code, unless you request confidentiality all provided information "name, address, phone number, etc." is subject to disclosure. 

 

To report any violation please contact 757-678-o443 ext. 526

Staff Information

Susan McGhee
Director

757-678-0443 ext. 541

smcghee@co.northampton.va.us



Zoning Administrator

757-678-0443 ext. 545


John Outten
Building Official

757-678-0445 ext. 525

joutten@co.northampton.va.us


Kelley Lewis Parks
Planner/GIS Specialist

757-678-0443 ext. 546

klewis@co.northampton.va.us


Tom Rippon
Code Compliance and Building Inspector

757-678-0445 ext. 526

twrippon@co.northampton.va.us


Beth Nunnally
Development Inspector

757-678-0443 ext. 542

bnunnally@co.northampton.va.us 


Jennifer Sayers
Permit Technician

757-678-0445 ext. 543

jsayers@co.northampton.va.us


Carmen Warner
Office Coordinator

757-678-0443 ext. 524

cwarner@co.northampton.va.us


Department of Planning, Permitting & Enforcement
PO Box 538
16404 Courthouse Road
Eastville, VA 23347

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
9 AM - 5 PM