Historic Court Green Eastville

Photo Credit: Jean Flynn
The Historic 1899 Courthouse on the Historic Court Green in Eastville serves as part of the County Administration building.


The County is organized under the traditional form of government contained in the Code of Virginia Section 15.2. Under this form, the locality is directed by a five-member Board of Supervisors, all of whom are elected by district within the County for four-year terms. The Board takes action by the adoption of ordinances or resolutions.

The Code of Virginia states that the County Board of Supervisors shall have the power to:

  • Prepare and approve the county budget
  • Levy taxes and appropriate funds
  • Audit claims against the county
  • Issue warrants in settlement of all claims and accounts
  • Construct and maintain county buildings
  • Approve and enforce the county's comprehensive plan and land use control ordinances
  • Make and enforce ordinances for police, sanitation, health, and environmental government as authorized by law
  • Provide for the care and treatment of indigent and physically handicapped county citizens

The Board elects annually a chairman who presides at each Board meeting and serves as the official head of the County government. A vice chairman is elected as well and serves in the absence of the chairman. This election occurs in January of each calendar year.

The administrative head of traditional form of government is the county administrator. The county administrator is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serves at the pleasure of the Board. The administrator is a full-time employee whose duties are to implement county policies as determined by the Board of Supervisors and oversee the day-to-day county business operations through a staff of professional directors. This position has no definite term and the administrator may be removed by a majority vote of the Board at any time. The authority and responsibilities of the County Administrator are set out in the Code of Virginia Section 15.2-1541.

The County's traditional form of government includes constitutional offices that provide certain administrative functions. Northampton County has four constitutional officers: commissioner of revenue; commonwealth attorney; sheriff and treasurer who are elected to 4 years terms that are not limited. The fifth constitutional officer, Clerk of the Circuit Court is elected for an eight year term.